Vacation Envy

I try not to be one of those bitter, jealous people who’s convinced that everyone else’s grass is greener and their lives more interesting.  But sometimes I am.

For the last few weeks, I’ve been suffering from vacation envy.  Friends have sent emails describing their trips and posted photos on Facebook.  Just yesterday, I picked up friends at the airport after their fun long weekend in NYC, my sister and nephew arrived home from France, and my parents arrived at their vacation site in Maine along with my brother and his family.

I cleaned out my desk.

Well, technically I didn’t “clean out” my desk, I just looked through a bunch of papers, straightened up the piles, and moved a stack of books from the desk to the floor.  Actually, the desk does appear cleaner than before–maybe I technically “cleaned off” my desk.

But I digress.  The point is, I’m not away on a vacation and I want to be.

My vacation envy is worse because the great vacation I had planned last January fell through when I got sick.  Two weeks in the warm southwest with my cousin and her husband, visiting Joshua Tree National Park and San Diego in their RV.  But no–I ended up sick and stuck in cold and snowy Michigan for those two weeks.

As you can see, my bitterness and jealousy are justified.  However, I don’t want to dwell on that, so I’m turning my thoughts to planning my next vacation.  Since I will be unemployed in a few weeks, my practical side keeps reminding me that I can’t afford to spend much money.  The rest of me understands that, but really just wants to daydream now and worry about the practical details later.

Plans for Daydreams about my next vacation:

  1.   A beach.  A nice sunny beach with white sand, cool breezes, and the sound of the ocean.  I’m staying in a nice room with a balcony so I can sometimes get the sun and the sound without the sand.
  2. Scotland.  In one daydream, I’m hiking through the Scottish highlands.  In the other,  I’m wandering the streets of Glasgow and Edinburgh before popping into a local pub.  I am not, in either of these daydreams, eating haggis.
  3. Driving  the Pacific Coast Highway from SF to LA.  Those who know me will be surprised by this since I don’t really enjoy driving, but I’ve always wanted to take this trip.  Oh, and stop off in Salinas to visit Steinbeck country and celebrate one of my favorite writers.  Of course, I’d be even happier if someone else did the actual driving.
  4. Utah.  I’ve never been to the state, and I hear it’s beautiful.  Plus I’ve seen all 5 of the Great Lakes and I  want to see how the Great Salt Lake stacks up to them.  How do we determine what’s “great” in a body of water?
  5. Joshua Tree National Park.  And San Diego.  In an RV.  With my cousin and her husband.

I’m open to other daydreams–got any to share with me?  Feel free to share practical plans and invitations as well. 🙂

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Vacation Envy

  1. jane says:

    Although I just got home from a fun long weekend in NYC (thanks for the ride!) I would be happy to be the driver from SF to LA – I have never done it, but would love to. Although if I’m the driver I’m not the ‘watcher’. hmmm. we would make lots of stops.

    And since I’m also about to be unemployed, we really need to think about the timing of any trips…. let’s head to a nearby pub and discuss.

  2. Kay says:

    I like your daydreams. I warned Will that all good Jewish women begin planning the next vacation on the current vacation. Currently my daydreams involve Costa Rica and a combo holiday to Prague, Vienna and Budapest.

  3. Jeff McKown says:

    Cindy – If you decide you want to pursue daydream vacation #3, I am:
    a) Living in San Francisco (your starting point)
    b) Also unemployed
    c) Willing to drive the whole way

    Keep on blogging!
    Jeff McKown

  4. Jeff McKown says:

    I am soooo up for the Jane/Cindy California road trip. I’ll be driving “Ms. Daisies.”

  5. Bob(by) says:

    How did I miss this blog to start with…. Oh yeah, I was in Maine. Veronica was in Europe a couple of weeks before we went to Maine. I suppose it was not technically a vacation since it was for work, but it hard to feel too bad when the work trip includes Vienna and Prague. She said Prague was the most beautiful city she had ever seen. It is now on our radar for a vacation as well.

Leave a Reply

