A Year of . . . What? Where?

As I mentioned in my last blog, I’m currently looking for a job.  Well, sort of looking.  Anyway, I’ve been thinking about what to do next with my life and I’ve had a great idea.  I need something to do for a year or so, something I can then write a book about, a book that will be turned into a movie.

All I need now is a really good idea of what I can do that will appeal to a massively huge audience without driving me crazy.

Right off I can eliminate eating, praying, and loving for a year–that’s been done.  So has cooking all of Julia Childs’ recipes, living in a monastery, living in Provence, living dangerously, and traveling across the Australian Outback.  I  can also eliminate anything that involves climbing a mountain, riding a roller coaster, or walking across a tightrope because I’m not good with heights.  Along those same lines, I can eliminate anything that involves cold weather or snow, because I’m not good with those either.

So what do I like?  I like to eat, but don’t want to gain a lot of weight, so any kind of food-based project is probably out.  I love to travel, but have a limited budget.  Reading, listening to music, watching movies–these are all fun, but the world is already kinda overrun with people writing those kind of books.

What’s left?  The great idea I’ve had is to spend a year traveling around the country and staying with friends and family to keep costs down, sleeping on their sofas until they get tired of me hanging around.  I’ll call the book “Sofa Hopping” or “America:  A View from the Couch.”  Of course, sometimes sofas aren’t that comfortable, which means my back might start bothering me and then I wouldn’t be able to drive.  And I don’t really like to drive anyway.  Besides,  my car is really old.   Maybe this isn’t such a great idea after all.

Sigh.  Guess I’ll get back to the job search.

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Year of . . . What? Where?

  1. Jane Everson says:

    How about walking to the closest Starbucks every morning for 365 days and ordering 365 variations of their coffee, saying something witty to 365 different people, recording their responses, and then writing a book about the experience? A year of beans and wit? Let me know if it works – I am counting on your career plan inspiring me….

  2. I like the idea, but don’t think I can actually carry this one out–I had to give up caffeine. And I appreciate your faith that I could come up with something witty for 365 straight days, but I’m not sure I could. Especially without caffeine. But maybe I could just go to Starbucks every morning and write about what folks say or do while waiting in line. I bet that could become one of those “everything I need to know I learned in line at Starbucks” type of books. Hmmm.

  3. Jeff says:

    Sadly, I do spend an inordinate amount of time in Starbucks, and I can tell you there is very little of interest said by those waiting in line. If you pursue that idea, your book may have chapter titles like…
    – “You know, Miriam, honestly, I don’t care for so much for foam.”
    – “Timmy, put that yogurt down.”
    – “Oh mah God, oh mah God, oh mah God. Did you hear what Allison said to Tiffany about Jennifer?”

    If you decide to go with the “sofa” book, ours is a futon 🙂

Leave a Reply

