NaNoWriMo–Week 3

Yes, there is a week 3 of NaNoWriMo for me.  Thanks for all of the encouraging words urging me to stick with it.  I plan to continue, although as expected my average daily word count has plummeted this week.  I’m visiting family, helping to take care of my niece and nephew while their parents are out-of-town, which means not much time for writing.

And that’s okay.  We’re having lots of fun.  I don’t get to see them often, so we’re taking advantage of this quality time together.  In the past few days, I’ve spied on a squirrel with the  kindergartener (it was her homework), played a toy drum to accompany the two-year old guitarist, taught them to say “Go Blue” during the football game, added a Wiggles channel to Pandora, and discovered that they are both better at games on the iPad than I am.

As you can see, I’ve been busy.  And pretty darned tired.  I’ve written a bit at night when everyone else has gone to bed, but in all honesty I don’t tend to get many words down before I fall asleep.

On a positive note, I think I worked out the plot issues I wrote about last week.  I moved some things around, and now the dead bodies are at the very beginning of the book.  I even know who killed them!  Still haven’t quite figured out how the main characters solve the crime, but at least I now have a solution in mind.

I’ve even written an outline, even though  I’ve never been much of an outline person.  Back in junior high, when required to turn in an outline, I usually wrote the paper first, then the outline.  Apparently that’s still my writing style, since I didn’t get around to writing an outline here until I was 25k words into the story.  But now I have one, and it’s even divided into chapters, which is very exciting to me for some reason.

However, I still have lots of work to do.  For one thing, I’ve only named about half the characters so far.  I may kill the unnamed ones off just to avoid dealing with that.  Also, the story is set on another planet, which is both unnamed and undescribed as of this writing.  And I did just send one of the main characters off on a hike into the forest and/or mountains, so now I’ve got to come up with some flora and fauna, which will be difficult since I don’t even know anything about earth flora and fauna.

Oh, and there’s also the little matter of writing another 20k words in the next 8 days.

Luckily for me, my niece told me a story the other day, and I’ve decided to follow her lead.   Because she’s 5, her story had a princess, a prince, and a mean king.   After a brief introduction to the characters she went right into plot development and conflict.  Every time the prince and princess thought things were great, the mean king did something.  Whenever her narrative ran out of steam, she just said, “And then . . .” and started  a new plot development.  So that’s what I’m going to do.   (Also, I have to say I wish I were half as cute when I stare into space trying to think of what comes next.)

Hopefully right after Thanksgiving I’ll be able to spend some quality time with the writing.  Dead bodies are found, and then the main characters meet, and then . . .

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaNoWriMo–Week 3

  1. jane says:

    I think you should start each chapter with ‘and then…’ and credit your niece at the beginning of the book.

  2. Jeff says:

    And then…maybe you could end each chapter with…”and that’s what happened.” If you hit 30 chapters that’s a full on 120 bonus words! Woot!
    (hey, maybe add a “woot” too…periodically…when something good happens)

Leave a Reply

