No More NaNo

The 50,199 words I wrote during November for NaNoWriMo are still sitting on the computer, waiting for me to come back to them.  I’m feeling a little guilty about leaving them alone for so long in their needy state, almost like I’d turned away from a friend going through a rough time.  But I haven’t forgotten about them.  In fact, they’re on my mind all the time.

When I look at my consultation schedule, I examine all the names to see if any of them would be good for one of my many unnamed characters.  At the grocery store yesterday, I dodged carts and displays to get in front of a woman who, from the back, looked just like one of my main characters.  (She didn’t look much like her from the front, a disappointment I alleviated by buying some good brie and a baguette for lunch.)

Apparently my subconscious is also busy thinking about the words, and doing a great job.  Yesterday morning I woke up with a perfectly clear and logical way to resolve one of the plot issues in the story.  Unfortunately, it was 2AM when I woke up with this solution, but at this point I’ll trade insight for sleep.

Those helpful folks at NaNo are also thinking about the words we all wrote in November, and yesterday afternoon I received an email about life after NaNo (“NaNoWriMo–Now What?”), along with a link to a website providing tips for revising what was written in November.  We’re even going to get a pep talk email each month through September 2012!

So here I am–I’ve taken the recommended break, let all the ideas for revising and finishing and improving percolate for a week, and discovered a way to fix some of the bigger plot issues.  Now it’s time to get back to my jumbled up mess of a story and see what it can become with some effort and attention.  So don’t worry, 50,199 words.  I’m baaack!

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No More NaNo

  1. Cathy says:

    What about some Dark Shadows’ names? Sorry I can’t help with that… I’ve blocked it out of my mind.

Leave a Reply

