Christmas Time’s A-Coming*

I love Christmas.  I love the decorations, the music, the movies, the food.  I love the traditions, the very special Christmas episodes of TV shows, giving and  (let’s be honest) receiving presents.

I even love the shopping, which is a little weird because I hate shopping the other 11 months in the year.  Something about a crowded store makes shopping more festive and fun.  Or maybe it just makes it more like a sport so that my competitive juices get flowing, and they don’t flow very often these days.  But give me a pile of turkeys in any grocery store and I’ll happily dig through them to find the biggest one.  Tell me about a hard-to-find toy and I’ll dedicate my time to finding one.   Want a video game but think it costs too much?  I’ll search online, offline, anyline trying to find it on sale.

Okay, I got off track there with tales of my shopping prowess.  I’ll start over.

I love Christmas.  My birthday is December 14. ( Oh look–that’s today!  Happy Birthday to me!  But back to my point.)  When I was a kid, my parents did a good job of making sure my birthday didn’t get lost in the Christmas rush.  Of course, back when I was a kid, the Christmas rush didn’t start in October.  In fact, and here’s my point, in my mind the Christmas season started on my birthday.  We often bought our tree on my birthday.  I could get started on my Christmas shopping after the 14th–since I never saved any money as a kid, I had to wait for the money I got from various relatives for a birthday present before I could buy any Christmas presents.

Even today, though I did save (some) money and have already started shopping, and though I helped my mom set up the tree over Thanksgiving weekend, I still feel like this is my emotional start to Christmas.

To celebrate, I’ve decided to create a blog series for “my” Christmas season.  Every day between now and Christmas, I’ll choose one of my Christmas favorites and write about it.  And yes, this is me once again throwing a writing challenge at myself.  I made it through NaNo–we’ll see how this goes.

I hope that you’ll come back every day to read them and that you’ll share some of your favorites along the way.  Christmas time’s a-coming!

*Christmas Time’s A-Coming” is an excellent country Christmas song by Emmylou Harris.

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Christmas, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas Time’s A-Coming*

  1. Jess says:

    Looking forward to your new writing challenge. Good luck! I keep hoping your dedication will inspire me. I’ve gone so far as to bookmark the NaNo website for next year…baby steps.

  2. Jess says:

    And happy, happy birthday! 🙂

  3. Vincent Russo says:

    love it!

  4. Thanks, Vinnie! Here’s hoping the procrastination bug doesn’t get the best of me!

Leave a Reply

