Friends

In everyone’s life, at some time, our inner fire goes out. It is then burst into flame by an encounter with another human being. We should all be thankful for those people who rekindle the inner spirit. –Albert Schweitzer

One of the best things about Christmas is reconnecting with friends who have moved away, or maybe just drifted away over time.  We don’t have to wait until Christmas for this, of course, but too often we do, which is why catching up with friends is the focus of today’s Favorite Christmas Things.

Friends come and go over the course of a lifetime.  Some stay with us for years, even decades, while others slip away after a brief period.  But no matter how long or short the duration, our friends affect our lives.  At some point in the friendship, all of our friends help us rekindle our inner spirit.

The Christmas season is one of the few times in the year when we are expected to seek out our friends, to touch base and see what’s happened since we spoke last,  to celebrate the spirit and joy of Christmas at a party, or to simply sit down together for a meal or a drink and have a conversation.  Friends who live elsewhere come to town for the holidays so we can get the chance to spend time together.  We send cards, pick up the phone, drop by the house. 

I’m not good at keeping in touch.   I haven’t even bought Christmas cards yet, much less sent them out.   But last week I had the chance to see some old friends at an Open House holiday gathering,  go out to dinner with a friend, and have some friends come over.  Today I’m meeting two friends for brunch, one of whom is just in town for a few days to visit her family for Christmas.  I leave tomorrow to visit my own family for the holidays, and I’m hoping to get together with some friends who live there, friends I haven’t seen in a long time.  I’m grateful that the Christmas season helps nudge me toward my friends, and helps me remember to acknowledge how important they are in my life.

So to any of my friends, past or present, who are reading this:  Thanks for being a friend.  Remember that although you might not hear from me,  I do think about you.  Keep in touch.   Have a wonderful holiday season.

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

