How The Grinch Stole Christmas

One of my very favorite Christmas things is How the Grinch Stole Christmas.  I love the book and the video.  That Dr. Seuss was a genius at writing great books, wasn’t he?  And who could have been a better narrator than Boris Karloff?  His voice is perfect in the video.

In the movie, one of the funniest scenes to me is when the “reindog” ends up on the back of the sleigh, waving at the Grinch,  before being yanked to the front to pull the sleigh on its runaway slide down the mountain.  I also love the way the mouse turns up its nose at the tiny crumb left by ol’ Santy Grinch.

Karloff’s reading is so perfect that when I read the book I hear his voice in my head when I read aloud, trying in vain to sound half as good.  When he says “He even took the roast beast,” he makes it sound like the horrific crime that it was, while still managing to insert a sly note of humor into the line.  And I absolutely love how he says, ” . . . and he stuffed the tree up!”

The lesson learned by the Grinch at the end, when the Whos down in Whoville celebrate Christmas with none of the presents or food or decorations, the lesson that makes his heart grow so large, that lesson is one we can stand to learn again from time to time.

A great story and a great video–How The Grinch Stole Christmas is one of my Favorite Christmas Things.

What’s your favorite part?

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How The Grinch Stole Christmas

  1. i love the part with the tiny dog. The dog looks like my late dog Pumpkin. Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

