From the Beginning (Part 6)–Just Like Starting Over

The bad news is that I’ve made very little progress writing my novel in the last week.  The good news is that my apartment is much cleaner.  See, procrastination can be your friend!

I did make a decision about the novel that will ultimately be a good thing, I think, but that for now means almost starting over.  I’ve redefined the focus, which means I need to change the point of view, which means I need to rewrite pretty much everything I already have.  Of course, I always knew I’d have to rewrite, but I did think that would come later in the process.  On that other hand, I am re-energized about writing, so that’s another good thing.

Overall, seems like the good things outweigh the bad things.

Before, I had two main characters, and planned to alternate chapters with their point of view.  What I realized, finally, is that I kept getting stuck when writing from the perspective of one of the characters.  After my last blog about the writing, when I realized that I’d gotten lost in the weedy details, I did step back and re-focus on the story I wanted to tell.  When I did that, it became clear that I really wanted to tell the story of one character, and that the other “main character” had to be demoted to the supporting cast.  She’ll still be important, but we don’t need to see the story unfold from her perspective.

My relief when I made this decision tells me it’s the right one, although that hasn’t stopped me from second guessing myself for the last week (hence the clean apartment).  But in my mind, the novel now seems much easier to write, which means I should be able to get BIC* and get back to writing.

Right after I mop the floor.

 

*Butt in chair

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From the Beginning (Part 6)–Just Like Starting Over

  1. Jeff says:

    Your procrastination manifests itself in cleaning. My procrastination manifests itself in iPad marathons of BBC America. At least your place is getting spiffy.

Leave a Reply

