Spring Forward!

The weather forecast on the radio this morning said we would have a near-record high today.  Now in July or August that’s bad news, but since we’re still in the first half of March, that’s great news. I didn’t spend any time at all pondering relativity or timing;  I just jumped right out of bed full of energy and ready to take on the day.

I love spring.  All the symbolism surrounding the season makes perfect sense.  When the sun regains its warmth, the days lengthen, the grass and trees take on a greenish tint, and the first brave flowers stick their heads up to add color to a gray world, I am filled with hope and a renewed belief in a new beginning.  I’m not big on making resolutions, but if I did I’d make them in the spring, not in the dark cold of January.

This is the time of year when new beginnings seem possible.  Why, yes, I will exercise more and eat better and clean out the basement and finish my novel and start playing tennis and become a better person . . .

Okay, maybe I’m overly excited by the 75 degrees we’re promised for today, March 14.  In Michigan!  I probably won’t make any huge changes in my life.  But I will be outside enjoying the sunshine, feeling lighter without the weight of my winter coat, and believing that this is the start of something beautiful.

Does the change in season affect your mood?  What do you do to celebrate spring?

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

