Bracket This

For the first time in my life I’m playing in a March Madness pool.  So far I’m #5,032,224 in ESPN’s Tournament Challenge and tied for 88th in my group, the Blue Fugate Challenge.

I might not win.

Failing to win could not count as a “shocker” since I don’t follow college basketball and knew very little about the teams in the tournament.  I almost randomly selected my teams—and I say “almost” because I didn’t actually go to one of the random pick generators out there, like the one where you pick by animals and the generator ties your choices back to the teams in some magical and probably humorous way, which would have been kinda fun, but that’s not what I did.  My picks were slightly less random than that.  I went with heart over seeding for some (UVa, Alabama, Southern Miss) and seeding over heart for others (VCU, Norfolk St, Notre Dame).  I guessed wrong approximately 100% of the time.

On the other hand, both of my final teams are still alive, as are 3 out my Final Four and 7 out of my Elite Eight.  As an inveterate gambler eternal optimist, I’m pretty sure that means I still have a chance to win, to emerge victorious from the darkness of defeat.  If this dream is a mathematical impossibility, please don’t tell me.

How many of you are playing in a pool?  How are your teams doing?  Anyone planning to join me in the winner’s circle?  Or the loser’s circle, whatever.

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bracket This

  1. Jeff says:

    I believe the team that ends up landing Peyton Manning will make the finals where they will face Roger Federer – who will undoubtedly return to #1 this season!

Leave a Reply

