Dark Shadows

As a kid, I used to run home from school, up a big hill, in order to watch Dark Shadows.  This is the show that generated my lifelong love for vampires, werewolves, witches, warlocks, time travel, ghosts, parallel universes, and nearly every other type of supernatural and fantastical character and event possible. 

The show itself started as a typical soap opera:  a young woman, seeking answers about her past, comes to a spooky old mansion as the governess for the troubled young boy of a highly dysfunctional family.  Apparently, when the ratings of the show faltered and the series appeared likely to be cancelled, the show’s creator figured, what the heck.  Let’s go out with a bang.

That’s when Barnabas Collins entered the scene. 

The 200-year old vampire, released from his coffin, brought whole new storylines to the soap and new life to the ratings.  For the next five years, Dark Shadows introduced viewers to a wide array of supernatural creatures.  Characters died, but came back as ghosts, or as their own ancestors in one of the time-travelling story arcs.  When Jonathan Frid, who played Barnabas (and, sadly, died just a few weeks ago), needed a break from being on screen so much, they writers introduced Quentin Collins, a menacing ghost who turned out to be a werewolf.   This started the trend of vampires vs. werewolves still in fashion today, although Barnabas and Quentin did at times work together to banish some other supernatural creature threatening the Collins family.

I loved this show, and as a child was completely unaware of the campier side of the story.  It became such a part of my life that years later, as an adult re-watching the show on DVD, I realized that the setting for many of my recurring dreams was in fact the Collinwood mansion!

Which brings me around to the point of this—the Tim Burton/Johnny Depp movie of Dark Shadows comes out tomorrow, and I’m torn about whether or not to go see it.  On the one hand, I like Tim Burton and Johnny Depp and the previews look funny.  On the other hand, I don’t know if I want to see a comic version of the show that scared and thrilled me for so many years.

What about you?  Anyone planning to see the movie?  Anyone else remember watching the show as a kid?

About notthatCindyCrawford

I like books, music, movies, television, sports, food, travel, learning, laughing and sitting around thinking. This blog is a place for me to have fun writing about the things I love. Let me know how I'm doing.
This entry was posted in Movies, Television and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dark Shadows

  1. Speaking as one who is more familiar with the Tim Burton films than the Dark Shadows soap opera, there is one thing that may entirely dissuade me from seeing this movie: blatant product placement. I get that the film is supposed to be set in the 70s and that references to the innovations of the then-modern world help to cement that fact, but that is no excuse to shoot a short segment for the sole purpose of displaying a McDonalds sign and play it at the beginning of one of the film’s ads. Honestly, I thought Tim Burton was above that.

  2. I was addicted. Just like you, it was a daily event after school. I have been meaning to check it out again on Netflix. Probably won’t see it in the theatre, but definitely will watch the DVD.

  3. Jane says:

    You captured my thoughts exactly. I remember rushing home from John C Wood school with my best fiend Mary Lee Ferguson to watch it and then we would go to the Baskin & Robbins for an ice cream cone. It was such a seductively scary TV show to me as a child. As an adult, I am afraid that I would be as disappointed by the movie as I am by the sometimes seen in passing re-runs of the series on TV. As Thomas Wolfe wrote, “You can’t go home again…”.

Leave a Reply

